Radio Events

2017 RADIO EVENTS

Jan 07 2017 (Sat)

Start: 18:00z 07 Jan 2017 — End: 23:59z 07 Jan 2017

From 12:00 PM (noon) Saturday until 5:59 PM Sunday Central Standard Time

and

Jun 18 2017 (Sun)

Start: 18:00z 07 Jan 2017 — End: 23:59z 07 Jan 2017

From 1:00 PM (noon) Saturday until 6:59 PM Sunday Central Savings Time

ARRL Kids Day

The American Radio Relay League encourages all operators to share their enthusiasm of the many facets of amateur radio, by introducing our fine activity to the next generation. To help with the effort, they’ve suggested two days we can join together for the purpose of getting kids on the air… helping to spark within them, an interest in the science, action, thinking/invention, and service that make up amateur radio.

Share your love and joy of ham radio with next generation of operators, show off your shack, and help get a kid on the air!

More information about the ARRL Kids Day event can be found at:
http://www.arrl.org/kids-day

*********************************************************

Jun 24-25 2017 (Sat-Sun)

Start: 18:00z 24 Jun 2017 — End: 20:59z 25 Jun 2017

From 1:00 PM Saturday until 3:59 PM Sunday Central Savings Time

ARRL Field Day 2017

Field Day 2017 will be held, as always, on the fourth full weekend of June, beginning at 1800 UTC (1 pm Central Daylight Time) Saturday and running through 2059 UTC (3:59 pm Central Time) Sunday. For 2017, this will be June 24-25.

We will likely again reserve the North Shelter House at Swan Lake State Park south of Carroll, IA for our Field Day location.

More information about the ARRL’s Field Day event can be found at:
http://www.arrl.org/field-day

*********************************************************

Oct 20-22 2017 (Fri-Sun)

No formal begin & end times

Jamboree On The Air (JOTA)

The 2017 Jamboree On The Air (JOTA) event will likely take place from Friday, October 20 through Sunday, October 22, 2017 (Event is held annually on the third full weekend in October). There are no set start or stop times, as this is not a contest. Just get on the air when you’re ready, and start making contacts.

Remember, this event is not just for the Boy Scouts… Girl Scouts and Guides are encouraged to participate and share as well.

More information can be found at:
http://www.arrl.org/jamboree-on-the-air-jota
and:
http://www.scouting.org/jota.aspx

Also, it may be advisable to have a copy of the list of countries that the US has a third-party traffic agreement with.

Approved Third-Party country lists can be found at the FCC and the ARRL.

*********************************************************

Oct 21 2017 (Sat) UNCONFIRMED

Start: 14:00z 21 Oct 2017 — End: 23:00z 21 Oct 2017

Saturday from 9:00 AM until 6:00 PM Central Savings Time

Iowa QSO Party

The 2017 Iowa QSO Party will likely take place from 1400 to 2300 Zulu (UTC) on Saturday October 21, 2017 (9:00 AM to 6:00 PM Central Daylight Time).

More information can be found at:
http://www.wa0dx.org/IAQSO/